Adam Bentz, 2017 Amy Award Winner

The Amy Award is a wonderful and giving way to bring awareness to the importance of support to the arts. I hope, as Bainbridge Island grows and grows, we will all continue to remember that we can all make a difference. I cannot thank the Anderson family, Arts & Humanities Bainbridge, Bainbridge Arts & Crafts and the Bainbridge Island community enough for their support!
– 2012 Amy Award winner Jherek Bischoff

The Amy Award is presented to a young adult under the age of 35, who is or has been an island resident, has compiled a body of work in the visual or performing arts, and whose work demonstrates a sense of quality, creativity, exploration and dedication. The Amy Award has been presented since 2001 to talented young artists who have continued to work in their chosen field including theater, dance, film, music, printmaking, jewelry making, mosaics, sculpture and photography.

The Amy Award is funded by an endowment established by David and Caren Anderson in memory of their daughter Amy. Amy Anderson was involved in the visual and performing arts and is remembered by many people today as a gifted young woman of great promise. The Amy Award is presented in her honor to provide encouragement and support to other young artists in our community.

Arts & Humanities Bainbridge manages the award program, and the honoree is chosen in alternate years by Bainbridge Performing Arts and Bainbridge Arts & Crafts. The Amy Award winner is honored at a ceremony in late May and receives an unrestricted $4,000 cash award.

Award winners

2017: Adam Bentz

2016: Dove Cameron

2015: Wes McClain

2014: Liz Ellis

2013: Raquel Stanek

2012: Jherek Bischoff 

2011: Annie Huntley

2010: Wes Corbett

2009: Jonathan Hallet

2008: Claire Hosterman

2007: Gregory Glynn

2006: Vincent Palazzolo-Packard

2005: Tracy Lang

2004: Rain Ross

2003: Jessica Tuffley

2002: Solia Hermes

2001: Korum Bischoff