Wes Corbett

Wes Corbett, 2010 Amy Award winner

Bainbridge Island musician Wes Corbett was named the 2010 Amy Award recipient.

Steven Fogell, Artistic Director for BPA, in describing the Amy Award said, “Our mission in picking the young artist to receive this award is to find someone passionate about their craft and continuing to further their artistic ability. Wes Corbett is that passionate artist and we are proud to see him recognized as such. Wes has shared his amazing musical talent with both Bainbridge Island and BPA for over eight years both in original music creations and local performances. Wes Corbett and Simon Chrisman created the original score for the Peter Pan production that appeared in 2002 and 2009 on the BPA stage.”

A native of Bainbridge Island, Wes Corbett began classical piano at the age of four but was converted to the banjo during high school, studying with Dave Keenan, Bill Evans, and Dennis Caplinger. For the past four years Wes has been composing and arranging original music for banjo and hammered dulcimer with Simon Chrisman, also a native of Bainbridge. They recorded an album with guitarist Jordan Tice, which was released on Patuxent in 2007 and was in the Chicago Tribune’s list of the top five acoustic records of 2008.

In the past several years Wes has appeared with numerous musicians and bands, including the David Grisman Quintet, Matt Glaser, the Mike Marshall and Darrel Anger duo, and Crooked Still. Since relocating to Jamaica Plain, MA in the fall of 2006, he has opened for Tony Rice with Lincoln Meyers and String Alliance, and toured internationally with Biscuit Burners.

Wes is featured on new CD releases with his bands Joy Kills Sorrow and The Bee Eaters. For more information on Wes Corbett and each band, visit www.beeeaters.com and www.joykillssorrow.com.

Back to Amy Awards